From Long Sutton to London: The Carrot or Stick Approach

When it comes to motivation to do exercise, I’m not exactly the best person to come to. Thanks to where I’m living at the moment, and the fact I can walk to work and back, I find myself walking for around an hour and a half each day, give or take ten minutes for pedestrian crossings and rogue pigeon attacks. But (and it’s a big but) with a reasonably big race on the horizon, which I really should have started training for earlier, I decided to take some time out of my day to run somewhere where I wouldn’t have to weave through oceans of tourists to get to where I want to go.

IMG_1071

Coincidentally, one of the burger joints I had been writing about on Monday, Tommi’s Burger Joint, had a branch in Chelsea, around 3 miles from the place I have been calling home for the past 3 weeks. So that worked out perfectly. Though this does simply highlight the fact I will do anything so long as there is food promised at the end of it… Anyway, I made it to Chelsea with only a minor stitch, but one mammoth hankering for a burger.

IMG_1068

Originally an Icelandic chain, based on American style burger bars, Tommi’s Burger Joint delivers on taste, looks and overall ambience. Entering into the slightly darkened restaurant, you’re surrounded by American pop culture references and posters plastered on walls left, right and centre. A ‘help yourself’ style drinks cabinet is to your left stocked with the most popular canned and bottled drinks, and the main menu sits above the bar where your order is taken. Scribbled in chalk marker are all your options, along with any special offers they have on at that point in time (like the aptly named “offer of the century” – what a bargain!).

 

After ordering a veggie burger with added avocado and a soda on the side, I glanced to my left to see a ‘Pimp Yo Burger Station’. They had everything you could want to add to your burger and more – not to mention their very own, very special “Tommi’s Burger Sauce”, which just lifts the burger to a whole new level. The whole point of Tommi’s is to personalize your burger experience to how you like it, so do what you want with yours and don’t let anyone tell you you can’t. (Saying that, I may disown any of you who dare to put vinegar on a burger. Why? Why would you do that?)

IMG_1061

And so, it’s with a full stomach and a wide smile that I left this place. A great little spot to dive in and grab a bite, and definitely worth the (reluctant) run to get there. So whether I’m visiting them in Chelsea or in Covent Garden there’s no doubt I will be back for more soon!

Leave a Reply

