From Long Sutton to London: We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto

It was out of the apple orchards and into the concrete jungle this week as I started my first week at Delicious. magazine (based over near Borough Market). With equal measures of excitement and apprehension, I walked over to start the day, not knowing what was in store.

img_0922.jpg

One of the best things about the placement of the offices is that it is only about two blocks away from a food haven: Borough Market. With stalls upon stalls of fresh produce, artisan bread, and more cheese than you can shake a stick at, I found myself going there more lunch hours to satiate my cravings for a delicious, wholesome lunch.

img_0918.jpg

One of my favourite little spots I’ve discovered is the Italian place ‘La Tua Pasta’. Fresh pasta in a range of shapes (filled with both veggie and meat), and smothered in any sauce you like, these guys produce the best of the best. In fact, we often bought their pici pasta (a type of thick spaghetti-like noodle) for a dish we served at the cafe back in the spring months; my boss was very emphatic that only the best quality be used. So, if it’s good enough for him, it’s good enough for me.

IMG_0920

With only a small selection of pasta being served, you can be certain that each and every one is as moreish as the next, but the pumpkin tortelloni is my personal favourite. Delicately seasoned pumpkin wrapped up in a thin layer of fresh egg-pasta, covered in olive oil and Parmesan. If there’s anything the Italians will teach you, it’s that there’s no need to make it complicated. High quality, fresh ingredients with classic flavours mean simple, beautiful dishes.

IMG_0924

There is no doubt that this place is an absolute gem, but there are definitely more to be discovered, and I for one cannot wait to find them!

Leave a Reply

