Part of the 13.5%

It’s almost impossible to resist the scent of freshly baked chocolate-chip cookies, but even on the best of days, I would struggle to eat a whole batch in one sitting. I am the 86.5% – I would admit defeat before devouring the 20th cookie. According to a recent study, 13.5% of the American population will admit to eating at least 20 cookies at one time – a feat I would say is, honestly, extremely impressive. However, after baking these utterly moreish choc-chip treats, I would definitely give it a good go.

Reading through the recipe initially and seeing the words ‘light muscovado sugar’resulted in me running to the cupboards only to find an abundance of dark muscovado sugar with no ‘light’ in sight. After a brief Google as to whether the two were interchangeable, I opted to take a chance and see what happens. Have you ever heard of baking to be so thrilling? Anyway, as it turns out, the dark muscovado gives a flavour which has been missing from some of my past efforts. The extra molasses gives a richer caramel flavour, which is simply divine, as well as adding further to the chewy texture of the cookies.

img_4339As for the chocolate chips, use as many as you would like though apparently a heaped tablespoon sized ball of dough will only hold a maximum of 50 chocolate chips, so any more might be going too far (if you believe that is possible!). I went for around 100g because I like to be able to taste the flavour of the actual cookie dough more than the flavour of the chocolate chips I use. Of course, if you’re using particularly indulgent chocolate, or simply prefer cramming as much chocolate as you can into your cookies, by all means, throw all the chocolate you have at it. After all, if you’re going to go to the effort of baking cookies from scratch, you may as well treat yourself.

img_4323After you’ve made the dough and placed the balls of dough onto the cookies sheet, now comes the important part: timing. I always find myself being scared of under-baking my cookies and being left with raw dough (which isn’t necessarily a bad position to be in, but not exactly the ideal situation). This time, I faced my fears, and trusted my judgement; I timed it perfectly. Still soft and not yet browning around the edges, I took them out and allowed them to cool. They set up as they cooled, and I was left with beautifully soft cookies which bend instead of snap when broken in half.

img_4351A reliable go-to cookie recipe is something I have been searching for a while now, and being so particular about not having cookies too crispy, or (at the other end of the spectrum) too cakey, I finally what I’ve been looking for. Buttery and chewy, with subtle caramel flavours, these cookies tick all the boxes on my checklist. Added to the fact they are easy to whip up and/or freeze for later use, this recipe will now and forever be my number one.

 

 

THE RECIPE

Ingredients

  • 125g Unsalted butter (softened)
  • 100g Dark brown soft sugar
  • 100g Caster sugar
  • 1 Free-range egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 225g Self-raising flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 100g chocolate chips

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°c/350 Fahrenheit/Gas Mark 4.
  2. Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy; once creamed, add the egg and vanilla.
  3. Sift the flour and salt into the bowl and mix until just combined, then add the chocolate chips.
  4. Roll into walnut size balls and place on ungreased baking paper.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven. For softer cookies, bake until the cookies are just setting (about 8 mins). Otherwise, cook for 10 minutes until just golden around the edges.
  6. Take out of the oven and leave to harden for a few minutes before transferring to a wire cooling rack.

Notes: Adapted from BBC Good Food’s ‘Millie’s Cookies Recipe’

Leave a Reply

